Once you have a Credential you know that they are to be used alongside the Authenticated Webhooks Action you can use when designing a Workflow. However, you may want to limit or control which users can use and manage these credentials. That's where permissions come in.
Users have the ability to configure 4 distinct Permissions that each Credential has:
Below you will find explanations about each Permission and how they work.
The Use permissions specifies which groups of users should have the ability to use the credential in an action.
This means that if there is a Workflow where an Authenticated Webhook Action is used with Credential X, the transitioner must at least have the Use permission on Credential X for that Webhook to be run.
The View permissions specifies which groups should have the ability to view and select the credential while configuring an Authenticated Webhook Action within a Workflow.
This means that if there is a user is creating Workflow where an Authenticated Webhook Action is used, the creator must at least have the View permission on Credential that they want to use for that Webhook. If they don't have it and they search for the Credential then it will not appear in the search.
The Edit permissions specifies which groups of users have the ability to edit the values of the Credential.
This means that if there is an existing Credential set with a Username and Password / Token, then the user must at least have the Edit permission on that Credential to update and change those values.
The Administrate permissions specifies which groups of users should have the ability to set the Permissions and Domains that a credential has.
Please Note: The permissions are structured so that the permission above overlaps with its predecessor. For example, if you have the Edit permission of a Credential then you also have the permission to View and Use it too.
For both the Global Credentials and the Space Credentials, Admins have the ability to set the default permissions each new Credential will be assigned.
By selecting the Default Permissions button you will be greeted with the following dialog:
Here you can click on Add to begin defining the groups that have each permission
If you ever forget what each permission does, hover over the Permission title and a tooltip will appear with a short explanation of what it does.
When you click on Add a new row will be added to the Permission Table of that respective permission, initially the group will be blank. All you have to do if click on the cell in the Group column and search for the group that you want to give that permission to.
Here is an example of some Default Permissions:
Once you have set your Defaults, click on the Save button to save them permissions. Now every time you create a new Credential they will have these permissions set.
If you don't want to use default permissions for every credential you can set the Permissions for each credential separately by clicking on the Permission tool button in the row of the credential.
The exact dialog will appear as the Default Permissions, from here you repeat the above steps and overwrite/add/remove the Permissions that have been set.
If you leave the Permissions of a Credential blank then this means that every user will be able to use and view the permission, and only Space Admins/Admins will have the ability to Administrate the credential.